Sidewalk Safari

So this is interesting. ‘Sidewalk Safari’ by Brookly-based duo Chairlift. And while I’ll admit it’s the first time I’ve heard of them, with them getting YouTube views in the hundreds of thousands and a song being used on an Apple commercial, I reckon I’m a little late to the party.

That said, this track is from the 2012 album ‘Something’ and having had a quick listen to others, it does seem a bit hit and miss. I really enjoy the 80s feel of some of this one, and the top synth/guitar line, but some others, at least to my ears, sound much closer to the rest of the manufactured mass-market pop coming out of the US. A new track out just this month sounds very different indeed and not my cup of tea (I’m sure they’ll cope). Not sure if there was a change somewhere along the lines. Might take a closer look.

Anyways, in the meantime, this one’s good.

Leave a Reply

